Longlist to be announced on Tuesday 23 June 2020 
Finalists to be announced on Tuesday 1 September 2020 
Winner to be to be announced on Friday 18 September 2020

(L-R) Claire Askew, Denise Mina, David Baldacci, Doug Johnstone, Manda Scott, Craig Robertson and Ambrose Parry (Chris Brookmyre and Marisa Haetzman) photographed at the torchlit procession at Stirling Castle for Bloody Scotland, Scotland’s International Crime Writing Festival in Stirling on the 20/09/2019. Paul Reich

As we wait to hear whether the Bloody Scotland Crime Writing Festival can go ahead (a decision is expected at the end of the month) there is good news around the annual prizes the Festival Awards for Scottish Crime Fiction in the past year.

Bloody Scotland is delighted to confirm that The McIlvanney Prize will be going ahead in 2020 with new sponsor, the Glencairn Glass, the World’s Favourite Whisky Glass and the Official Glass for Whisky. The Bloody Scotland Debut Crime Novel of the Year, which was launched last year and won by Claire Askew with All the Hidden Truths, will also go ahead, sponsored by the Glencairn Glass.

The award winning, Scottish family business Glencairn Crystal, creators of the Glencairn Glass, has always produced the decanter for the winner of The McIlvanney Prize so it was a natural partnership for them to come on board as sponsors of the prizes in their entirety.

Over sixty entries have been received for the 2020 award. The longlist will be announced at the end of June after which a panel of judges including Karen Robinson, Editor of The Times Crime Club; James Crawford, chair of Publishing Scotland and presenter of BBC series Scotland from the Sky and Stuart Cosgrove, writer, broadcaster and former senior executive at Channel 4, will select the finalists.The winner of the debut prize will be selected by a panel including Lin Anderson, author and a founding director of Bloody Scotland, and representatives from Waterstones and Glencairn Crystal. It is perfectly possible that a debut could also win the main prize.

Bob McDevitt, Director of Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival said:
‘It’s great to see that in this time of great uncertainty, the Bloody Scotland prizes have attracted another great crop of Scottish crime novels for readers to escape into. It’s especially heartening to see so many excellent debut authors slugging it out with the more established names. I’m also really pleased to welcome the Glencairn Glass on board as a sponsor of the prizes this year and look forward to working with them in the future.’

Kirsty Nicholson, Glencairn’s Design and Marketing Manager commented:
‘We are delighted to sponsor the McIlvanney Prize for the Scottish Crime Book of the Year and the Bloody Scotland Debut Crime Novel of the Year. As a Scottish family company we are excited and proud to be involved with such prestigious prizes that both celebrate and reward such a rich and talented tradition as Scottish crime fiction. Like Scottish crime writing, the Glencairn Glass is uniquely Scottish with a truly global appeal. We look forward to a great working relationship with Bloody Scotland and would like to wish everyone who has entered the best of luck.’

The winner of the Scottish Crime Book of the Year will be awarded The McIlvanney Prize in memory of William McIlvanney on Friday 18 September. The award recognises excellence in Scottish crime writing, includes a prize of £1000, a Glencairn Crystal Decanter and nationwide promotion in Waterstones. The Bloody Scotland Debut Prize will receive £500 and a Glencairn Star Trophy.

Previous winners of The McIlvanney Prize are Manda Scott with A Treachery of Spies in 2019 (which she chose to share with her fellow finalists Doug Johnstone, Denise Mina and Ambrose Parry), Liam McIlvanney with The Quaker in 2018, Denise Mina with The Long Drop in 2017, Chris Brookmyre with Black Widow in 2016, Craig Russell with The Ghosts of Altona in 2015, Peter May with Entry Island in 2014, Malcolm Mackay with How A Gunman Says Goodbye in 2013 and Charles Cumming with A Foreign Country in 2012.

Published by marypicken

Passionate book reader. Love all kind of books from 19th century novels to crime thrillers. My blog is predominantly crime, psychological thrillers and police procedurals with a good helping of literary fiction thrown in.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Bookliterati Book Reviews

'I declare there is no enjoyment like reading!" Jane Austen

Book Reviews by Emma b Books

The Curious Ginger Cat

Books, travel etc.

The Reading Closet

Books, adventure and cups of tea!


Love, theatre and ideas


Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

O. D. Book Reviews

Over dose on books with O and D!

Dream Come Review

~ a home for bookish musings


Just books, more books and some other stuff too

Mrs. Peabody Investigates

International crime fiction, TV and film

Book Bound

For the love of books...


Feeding the soul one story at a time.

Years of Reading Selfishly

Life is too short to read books you don't love

Love the Smell of a Book

Reading, reviewing and sharing the love for our favourite books for adults, teens and children

%d bloggers like this: