Skip to content


September 21, 2018

In the Church of the Holy Rude, Stirling, a packed crowd eagerly awaited the announcement of the winner of the Scottish Crime Book of the Year. Chair of the Judges, Craig Sisterton announced the winner as a huge round of applause broke out.

Liam McIlvanney’s The Quaker  is set in Glasgow in 1969. In the grip of the worst winter for years, the city is brought to its knees by a killer whose name fills the streets with fear: the Quaker.

You can read my interview with Liam McIlvanney here and my review of The Quaker here.

In 2016 the prize was renamed in memory of Liam’s father, William McIlvanney, who is often referred to as the Godfather of Tartan Noir and who once described Bloody Scotland on the BBC as ‘so friendly, so supportive I was honestly overwhelmed.’

The judges of the McIlvanney Prize this year were Craig Sisterson, Alison Flood, and comedian, Susan Calman who said of the winner:

‘The Quaker was, for me, the stand out book from the longlist. It’s one of those novels that as soon as I finished it, I looked forward to reading it again. Not only did I love the evocative recreation of Glasgow but the characters created were refreshing and surprising. It was such a pleasure to read.’

Denise Mina, winner of the McIlvanney Prize last year, handed over the engraved decanter and a cheque for £1000. The award recognises excellence in Scottish crime writing and includes nationwide promotion in Waterstones. It is presented annually at the Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival in Stirling.

Following the ceremony guests formed a torchlight procession (with Bloody Scotland branded umbrellas at the ready) through the streets of Stirling led by Val McDermid, Denise Mina and Liam McIlvanney – winner of the McIlvanney Prize 2018.

The 2018 winner was kept under wraps until the ceremony itself. The other finalists included Lin Anderson with Follow the Dead (Macmillan); Chris Brookmyre with Places in the Darkness (Orbit) and Charles Cumming with The Man Between (Harper Collins).

Previous winners of the Scottish Crime Book of the Year Award are Denise Mina with The Long Drop 2017, Chris Brookmyre with Black Widow 2016, Craig Russell with The Ghosts of Altona in 2015, Peter May with Entry Island in 2014, Malcolm Mackay with How A Gunman Says Goodbye in 2013 and Charles Cumming with A Foreign Country in 2012.

From → Crime

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

The Chocolate Lady's Book Review Blog

For book reviews of mostly adult, literary, contemporary, historical, and women's fiction.

The Bibliovert

Book Reviews, Recommendations and More

Cal Turner Reviews

Living life one book at a time...

Baker's Not So Secret Blog

Book reviews and more

Teapot Tucker

A Book and a Brew Will See You Through


Lover of books and book reviewer. Usually found curled up with a book.

The Annual Bloggers Bash

The Official Website for the Best Blogging Event of the Year!

The Bibliofile

Book Reviews, Books, Bestsellers, Literary Fiction

Liz Loves Books

The Wonderful World of Reading

Daily (w)rite

Damyanti Biswas is an author, blogger, animal-lover, spiritualist. Her work is represented by Ed Wilson from the Johnson & Alcock agency. When not pottering about with her plants or her aquariums, you can find her nose deep in a book, or baking up a storm.

Being Anne...

Books, travel, and other things that make life interesting

Books in my Handbag Blog

"I love your book blog and am honoured to be there amongst such class" - Carol Drinkwater, Apr 2017

Short Book and Scribes

To the point book reviews and other bookish stuff

Bucks, Books & Beyond

This blog is for me to share with you where books have taken me recently.

Sandy's Book a Day Blog

A book a day is bliss😍

Over The Rainbow Book Blog

Book reviews and ramblings from a book mad mum of three!

Raven Crime Reads

Criminally good reads...

%d bloggers like this: