Bloody Scotland, Scotland’s International Crime Writing Festival has today announced the finalists for the McIlvanney Prize for the Scottish Crime Book of the Year.

The winner will be presented at the opening reception of Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival at The Church of the Holy Rude, Stirling on Friday 21 September at an already sold out event.


At 7.15pm the winner will lead a torchlight procession – open to the public – with Val McDermid and Denise Mina, on their way down to their event. The award recognises excellence in Scottish crime writing, includes a prize of £1000 and nationwide promotion in Waterstones.
A panel of judges including comedian and crime fan Susan Calman, writer Craig Sisterson and Guardian books writer, Alison Flood, today reveal the finalists for The McIlvanney Prize from a twelve strong longlist.


The finalists include New Zealand based author, Liam McIlvanney, the son of the man after whom the prize is named; Lin Anderson, a founder of Bloody Scotland and two former winners of the McIlvanney Prize – Chris Brookmyre and Charles Cumming.

The judges explained why each book made the final four:

Lin Anderson, Follow the Dead (Macmillan)  




One of Scotland’s long running series raises the bar even higher, a series which is constantly re-inventing itself without being formulaic. The judges praised the novel’s evocative atmospheric setting.

Chris Brookmyre, Places in the Darkness (Little, Brown)




Chris Brookmyre is creating his own genre of cosmic noir in a fully realised world.  A superlative off world thriller about real world issues

Charles Cumming, The Man Between (Harper Collins)




A fresh twist on the spy novel, taking the genre to a different dimension, deftly weaving political events into the story. A superb page turner in the best possible way.

Liam McIlvanney, The Quaker (Harper Collins)




In a crowded market, McIlvanney has created a protagonist who is fresh and distinctive.  He takes the familiar tropes and makes them extraordinary.   
Previous winners are Denise Mina with The Long Drop 2017, Chris Brookmyre with Black Widow 2016, Craig Russell with The Ghosts of Altona in 2015, Peter May with Entry Island in 2014, Malcolm Mackay with How A Gunman Says Goodbye in 2013 and Charles Cumming with A Foreign Country in 2012. The 2018 winner will be kept under wraps until the ceremony itself.

Tickets for all not sold out Bloody Scotland panels and events are available from

Published by marypicken

Passionate book reader. Love all kind of books from 19th century novels to crime thrillers. My blog is predominantly crime, psychological thrillers and police procedurals with a good helping of literary fiction thrown in.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Bookliterati Book Reviews

'I declare there is no enjoyment like reading!" Jane Austen

Book Reviews by Emma b Books

The Curious Ginger Cat

Books, travel etc.

The Reading Closet

Books, adventure and cups of tea!


Love, theatre and ideas


Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...


Just books, more books and some other stuff too

Mrs. Peabody Investigates

International crime fiction, TV and film

Book Bound

For the love of words…

Always Need More Books

Books...need I say more?

Fantastic Reads

Lover of all things bookish 🖤

Curled Up With A Good Book

Honest Book Reviews, Meet the Author, Blog Tours, Cover Reveals & More!

%d bloggers like this: