Skip to content

The Ex by Alafair Burke

January 31, 2016

In this breakout standalone thriller in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, William Landay and Paula Hawkins, a lawyer agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been accused of murder-but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.
Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene since the shooting of his wife by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman who eerily but thrillingly echoes his past. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a “Missed Moment” item online and days later, a woman responds…
Olivia Randall is one of New York City’s best criminal defense lawyers. When she gets the phone call informing her that her former fiance, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him – and why?
For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, and the hurt she caused him, but as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?

 

This is the first of Alafair Burke’s novels I have read, but it certainly won’t be the last. I do like a good legal thriller and this certainly qualifies. It is a fast and engaging read. Not especially challenging, but it tells a compelling story and gives you characters who are sufficiently flawed to allow you to believe in them.
Olivia is an emotional mess; she messed up big time with ex- fiancé Jack many years ago and since then her emotional engagement has been little more than surface deep with anyone.

Her sexual morality is certainly questionable, but her legal skills are decent. So when, out of the blue, Jack’s daughter, Buckley contacts her to say that Jack has been taken into custody for murder, Olivia promises to do what she can to get him out of jail.
None of the characters in this courtroom drama are especially likeable, but you can’t help liking Olivia for her self-awareness, if not for the pretty huge mistakes she has made in the past.

I was rather less impressed with the change of personality at the end of the book, but I’m guessing that the inconsistency is reflective of a guilt finally overcome – though that could perhaps have been rather better communicated.

It’s not difficult to work out who was responsible for the triple killings – but then there aren’t that many characters to choose from. Nevertheless, that doesn’t detract from a well plotted book with a fast pace and a good narrative.
A solid three stars.

 

The Ex is published by Faber and Faber on February 4th 2016

From → Legal/Courtroom

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

BookBathBrew

The Perfect Way to Spend an Evening

Brianne's Book Reviews

Books, Books, Books!

For the Love of Meg

A Blog for all the Books I love to read and all the Films I love to watch

Always Need More Books

Books...need I say more?

Fantastic Reads

"It was impossible of course, but when did that ever stop a dreamer from dreaming?" -Strange The Dreamer by Lani Taylor

Curled up with a good book

Honest Book Reviews, Meet the Author, Blog Tours, Cover Reveals & More!

The Magic Of Wor(l)ds

Free bookreviews and other free book related stuff

HERDING CATS

General ramblings of a busy person

Secret Library Book Blog

Books, Books, Books

Jennifer ~ Tar Heel Reader

Reading under the light of a Carolina moon

Nordic Lighthouse

Spotlight on Nordic / Scandinavian crime fiction... and connections

The Overdue Book Review

Book reviews by Rebecca Hills

FromBelgiumWithBookLove

by Kelly Van Damme

Mac Reviews Books

Book reviews for the masses!

%d bloggers like this: