Skip to content

The Ex by Alafair Burke

January 31, 2016

In this breakout standalone thriller in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, William Landay and Paula Hawkins, a lawyer agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been accused of murder-but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.
Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene since the shooting of his wife by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman who eerily but thrillingly echoes his past. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a “Missed Moment” item online and days later, a woman responds…
Olivia Randall is one of New York City’s best criminal defense lawyers. When she gets the phone call informing her that her former fiance, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him – and why?
For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, and the hurt she caused him, but as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?

 

This is the first of Alafair Burke’s novels I have read, but it certainly won’t be the last. I do like a good legal thriller and this certainly qualifies. It is a fast and engaging read. Not especially challenging, but it tells a compelling story and gives you characters who are sufficiently flawed to allow you to believe in them.
Olivia is an emotional mess; she messed up big time with ex- fiancé Jack many years ago and since then her emotional engagement has been little more than surface deep with anyone.

Her sexual morality is certainly questionable, but her legal skills are decent. So when, out of the blue, Jack’s daughter, Buckley contacts her to say that Jack has been taken into custody for murder, Olivia promises to do what she can to get him out of jail.
None of the characters in this courtroom drama are especially likeable, but you can’t help liking Olivia for her self-awareness, if not for the pretty huge mistakes she has made in the past.

I was rather less impressed with the change of personality at the end of the book, but I’m guessing that the inconsistency is reflective of a guilt finally overcome – though that could perhaps have been rather better communicated.

It’s not difficult to work out who was responsible for the triple killings – but then there aren’t that many characters to choose from. Nevertheless, that doesn’t detract from a well plotted book with a fast pace and a good narrative.
A solid three stars.

 

The Ex is published by Faber and Faber on February 4th 2016

From → Legal/Courtroom

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

BOOKISH.LIFE.WORDS

Live the life of a reader

A Knight's Reads

All things bookish

Katie's Book Cave

My Book Cave full of fabulous books and authors

espresso coco

if I had to explain, you wouldn't understand

Barbara Copperthwaite

PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLERS TO GIVE YOU SHIVERS

Short Book and Scribes

To the point book reviews and other bookish stuff

Fictionophile

Fiction reviews, Bookblogger, Fiction book reviews, books, crime fiction, author interviews, mystery series, cover, love, bookish thoughts...

Audio Killed the Bookmark

Book Reviews for Audiobooks, Ebooks, and Other Digital Forms

Bookliterati Book Reviews

'I declare there is no enjoyment like reading!" Jane Austen

Scottish Writers' Centre

Company No: SC349247 - Charity No: SC040823

Mrs Bloggs The Average Reader

Book Reviews, Q&A author interviews, Blog Tours, Giveaways

The Beardy Book Blogger

Reading and Reviewing Books - May Contain Beard: "From Tiny Book Blog Buds Shall Mighty Book Blogs Grow" - TBBB

Kate Vane

Author

The Mystique Books

Celebrating Books

Ronnie Turner

Author & Book Blogger

%d bloggers like this: